Majestic Beauty

remove ad

New Old Profile ~ Links Rings Cast ~ Email G-book Notes ~ Host Image Design

My grandma's house.
2005-09-11, 8:02 p.m.

Ahhhhhh...! Msn not workin on my notebook! And, i don't know what's wrong! Can't fix it either. >.< So irritated by it. If anyone reading this knows, what's "Key Ports"? It's the only thing that doesn't pass the connectivity test on msn. Kuso. Anyway, i'm not here to rant about msn, but to blog about my grandma's house.

Today, my mum drove past my grandma's house, and where it used to be anyway. Now it's a piece of flat land. It's saddening, and unreal. It doesn't feel like it's gone, but we're just not looking at the right place. I can almost see the house still standing on that land. That house meant alot to me. I kinda grew up there, kinda because i only went there in the hols during kindergarten and primary school, but i went every hols. New year, june hols, Nov and Dec hols. Had so much fun there, even though those were the days without computer, sometimes even without friends my age to play with. It was just my grandma and me, but amazingly, it has made a wonderful memory in me. I remember the nights being spent in front of the tv in the huge living room, where the tv's so far from the sofa. Where the environment is silent besides the tv. The times when she made the traditional chinese desserts during december, and the times i helped her. Well, actually playing with the flour was more fun. >.< The mornings when i walked with her to get Otak from the "beach", and how we'll buy so many, and yet i'll finish most of it before lunchtime. The times when i complained hungry in the middle of the night, and she cooking instant noodles for me. The times we cousins gather there to play with the fancy lanterns my grandfather bought. The times when the porch was filled with cars when everyone came back. The times i cycled in a circuit that went through the living room, to the wide area in front of the house, through the long kitchen, then through the short hallway that led to the living room all over again. The one time when i drop the bike in that hallway because i saw a crab and it shocked me, when my grandma went to look, there was nothing there because the baby crab was under the bicycle, and when i pulled it up to go off again, it was caught by her and put into a jar, to be released in the night. The times when my youngest uncle drove me in the motorbike to catch baby crabs from the "beach", which he put on the back of his hand on the way back, to be released in the night. The many millipedes found in the living room at night. One at a time of course. =P The fishes in the cement "pool" at the back of the house, the time when i held a dead goldfish in my hand. The times when i saw huge monitor lizards by the side of the house. There were so many memories..all so dear to me..Even the umpteen times i got bitten by many mosquitoes on my legs and arms..

As i tear while i type this, i see the pieces of remnants on the land the house once stood. The place that made up the bulk of my childhood memories. And as i reminince about it, i realize, if i am feeling so sad because the house i grew up in is gone, when a person dear to me goes, how would i feel? I don't want to know..

Oh, technically it's my grand-dad's house, the times when he spent in front of the tv watching shares, the times he spoke loudly into the phone that was clearly audible in the kitchens. The times when i had those cans of Bird's nest everyday. But he never played as big a part in my life than my grandma, so..my grandma's house. =P

last - next